2024 ICANN Board of Directors Seat 9 Election

In line with the ASO Memorandum of Understanding and the ICANN Bylaws, the Address Supporting Organization Address Council (ASO AC) is calling for nominations for Seat 9 on the ICANN Board of Directors.

The selected candidate will serve for a three-year term, which will begin at the conclusion of the ICANN Annual General Assembly to be held during the ICANN 81 Meeting, scheduled to be held in November 2024.

Eligibility Requirements

All nominated candidates must meet the selection criteria and conflict of interest requirements as outlined in Articles 7.3, 7.4 and 7.6 of the ICANN Bylaws and will undergo a due diligence review by an independent ICANN contractor.


Regional Restrictions

The ICANN Bylaws state that the Directors selected by a Supporting Organization (SO) for its assigned Board seat(s) cannot reside in the same geographic region (see Section 7.2:c). The current ASO AC selection for Seat 10, Christian Kaufmann, resides in the RIPE region. Therefore, no nominations for Seat 9 can be accepted from candidates residing in the RIPE region.

List Of Candidates 

Following a call for candidates the ASO AC received the next candidates to run for seat 9 of the ICANN Board

Alan Barrett (AFRINIC Region)
Lee Howard (ARIN Region)
Ndum Vianney Forewah (AFRINIC Region)
Raymond Mammoth (AFRINIC Region)
Karl Kloppenborg (APNIC Region)

The comment phase will end at 23.59 UTC on 29 January 2024. Comments can be submitted for candidates by clicking on the link on their names above and adding a comment at the end of their CV/biography page.

Important Dates

– Nomination Phase: 15 September 2023 – 15 December 2023

– Comments Phase: 30 December 2023 – 29 January 2024

– Interview Phase: 29 January 2024 –29 March 2024

– Selection Phase (deliberation): 30 March – 29 April 2024

– Selection Phase (voting): 30 April – 7 May 2024

– Announcement of selected candidate: around 14 May 2024

Further Information

Detailed procedures for election of individuals to the ICANN Board of Directors by the ASO AC can be found in Section 9 of the ASO AC Operating Procedures.


If you have any questions about the elections or the election process, please contact secretariat [at] nro [dot] net.


– Address Supporting Organization Address Council (ASO AC): <https://aso.icann.org/aso-ac/>

– ASO Memorandum of Understanding: <https://aso.icann.org/documents/memorandums-of-understanding/>

– ICANN Bylaws: <https://www.icann.org/resources/pages/governance/bylaws-en>

Last modified on 11/01/2024