2018 ICANN Board of Directors Elections

In line with the ICANN Address Supporting Organization (ASO) Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) and the ICANN Bylaws, the ASO Address Council (AC) is responsible for the appointment of a representative to serve on Seat 9 of the ICANN Board.

Following an election by the Address Council members and the completion of Due Diligence, Ron da Silva was re-elected for a three-year term on the ICANN Board. Ron’s new term will begin at the conclusion of the ICANN 63 Meeting, which will be held from 20-26 October, 2018, in Barcelona, Spain.

Selection Process

The timeline for the selection process was as follows:

Nomination Phase: 2 October 2017 – 17 December 2017
Comment Phase: 18 December 2017 – 18 March 2018
Interview Phase: 17 January 2018 – 18 March 2018
Selection Phase: 19 March 2018 – 18 April 2018
Due Diligence Review: 19 April 2018 – 17 May 2018
Announcement: 9 May 2018

Nomination and Comment Phases

During the initial nomination period, four candidates were considered by the ASO AC Qualification Review Committee (QRC).

* A fourth candidate, Johan Mikael “Julf” Helsingius, withdrew his nomination on 5 February.

To aid them in making their final selection, the ASO AC members requested public comments and statements of support for the candidates. These comments are publicly archived for future reference.

Interview Phase

After review of written questionnaires and according to ASO procedures, two candidates were phone interviewed by the ASO AC Interview Committee (IC) before proceeding to the Selection Phase.

The candidates who participated in the selection phase for the  2018 Seat 9 ICANN Board of Directors were:

After the conclusion of selection phase, Ron da Silva was elected for a new term for the Seat 9 of the ICANN Board.

Further Information

Detailed procedures for election of individuals to the ICANN Board of Directors by the ASO AC can be found in Section 9 of the ASO AC Operating Procedures.



Last modified on 03/03/2020