2016 ICANN Board of Directors Election

Article VI, Section 2, Paragraph 1b, of the ICANN Bylaws, provides for the Address Supporting Organization (ASO) to select members to the ICANN Board of Directors. The term of Seat 10 incumbent, Kuo-Wei Wu, will expire at the conclusion of the ICANN Annual General Meeting that will be held in Hyderabad, India in November 2016.

Following an election by the Address Council members and the completion of Due Diligence, Mr Maemura Akinori was elected for a three-year term on the ICANN Board.

See the Structure of the ICANN Board of Directors for more information about qualifications, representation, conflict of interest, duties, and terms.

In accordance with the Address Council’s responsibilities outlined in Section 3.b.3 of the ICANN Address Supporting Organization (ASO) MoU and Section 7 of the ASO AC Operating Procedures (ASO AC OP), the Council completed its selection procedures for the 2016 appointment as outlined below.

Board Selection Schedule

The timeline for the selection process was as follows:

  • Nomination Phase – Wednesday 30 September 2015 to Thursday 7 January 2016
  • Comment Phase – Friday 8 January 2016 to Thursday 7 April 2016
  • Interview Phase – Sunday 7 February 2016 to Thursday 7 April 2016
  • Selection Process – Wednesday 11 May 2016 to Wednesday 25 May 2016
  • Due Diligence Review – Thursday 26 May 2016 to Monday 13 June 2016
  • Announcement – Around mid June 2016

Nomination and Interview Phases

During the initial nomination period, five candidates were considered by the ASO AC Qualification Review Committee (QRC).

Before the start of the Interview period one candidate decided to withdrew his nomination.

After review and according to ASO procedures, four candidates were interviewed by the ASO AC Interview Committee (IC) before proceeding to the Selection Phase.

The candidates who nominated to the 2016 Seat 10 ICANN Board of Directors were:

Maemura Akinori
Fiona Asonga
Johan Helsingius
Mohamed El Bashir – withdrew his nomination to ICANN Board Seat 10 on March 2nd 2016
Nurani Nimpuno

Selection Phase

Following the Interview phase, a first round with the 13 elegibles members of the ASO AC proceeded with the selection phase via electronic vote. In accordance with Section 7.4.10 of the ASO AC Operating Procedures, the total number of votes that each candidate received is recorded below.

Nurani Nimpuno 6 votes
Maemura Akinori 5 votes
Fiona Asonga 1 votes
Johan Helsingius 0 votes

One abstention was recorded.

As a result of the first round no candidate received a single majority support from the total voters. In accordance with Section 7.4.7 of the ASO AC Operating Procedures, the 13 elegible ASO AC members proceeded with a second round with the following results

Maemura Akinori 7 votes
Nurani Nimpuno 6 votes

No abstentions recorded

Call for Comments

To aid them in making their final selection, the ASO AC members requested public comments and statements of support for the candidates. These comments are publicly archived for future reference.


Last modified on 07/07/2020