2015 ICANN Board of Directors Election

Article VI, Section 2, Paragraph 1b, of the ICANN Bylaws, provides for the Address Supporting Organization (ASO) to select members to the ICANN Board of Directors. The term of Seat 9 incumbent, Ray Plzak, will expire at the conclusion of the ICANN Annual General Meeting that will be held in Dublin, Ireland in October 2015.

In accordance with the Address Council’s responsibilities outlined in Section 3.b.3 of the ICANN Address Supporting Organization (ASO) MoU and Section 7 of the ASO AC Operating Procedures (ASO AC OP), the Council completed its selection procedures for the 2015 appointment as outlined below.

Following an election by the Address Council members and the completion of Due Diligence, Mr Ron da Silva was elected for a three-year term on the ICANN Board.

See the Structure of the ICANN Board of Directors for more information about qualifications, representation, conflict of interest, duties, and terms.

Board Selection Schedule

The timeline for the selection process was as follows:

  • Nomination Phase ­ 24 October 2014 to 31 December 2014.
  • Comment Phase ­ 1 January 2015 to 31 March 2015.
  • Interview Phase ­ 1 February 2015 to 17 April 2015.
  • Selection Process ­ 20 April 2015 to 6 May 2015.
  • Due Diligence Review ­ 7 May 2015 to 31 May
  • Public Announcement ­ No later than 1 June 2015

Nomination and Interview Phases

During the initial nomination period, six candidates were considered by the ASO AC Qualification Review Committee (QRC). After review and according to ASO procedures, five candidates were interviewed by the ASO AC Interview Committee (IC) before proceeding to the Selection Phase.

Selection Phase

Following the Interview phase, the 15 members of the ASO AC selected a preferred candidate via electronic vote. In accordance with Section 7.4.10 of the ASO AC Operating Procedures, the total number of votes that each candidate received is recorded below.

Anthony Harris – 1 Vote
Khaled Koubaa – 0 Votes
Raimundo Beca – 1 Vote
Ron da Silva – 12 Votes
Timothy Denton – 0 Votes

One abstention was also recorded during the selection process.

Call for Comments

To aid them in making their final selection, the ASO AC members requested public comments and statements of support for the candidates. These comments are publicly archived for future reference.

Last modified on 02/07/2020