2022 ICANN Board of Directors Seat 10 Election

In line with the ICANN Address Supporting Organization (ASO) Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) and the ICANN Bylaws, the Address Supporting Organization Address Council (ASO AC) issued a call for nominations for Seat 10 of the ICANN Board of Directors.

The selected candidate will serve for a three-year term, which will begin at the conclusion of the ICANN Annual General Assembly to be held at the ICANN 75 Meeting, scheduled to take place in September 2022 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Eligibility Requirements

All nominated candidates had to meet the selection criteria and conflict of interest requirements as outlined in Article 7 of the ICANN Bylaws. Nominated candidates underwent a due diligence review by an independent ICANN contractor.

Regional Restrictions

The ICANN Bylaws state that the Directors selected by a Supporting Organization (SO) for its assigned Board seat(s) cannot reside in the same geographic region (see Section 7.2:c). The current ASO AC selection for Seat 9, Alan Barrett, resides in the AFRINIC region. Therefore, no nominations for Seat 10 can be accepted from candidates residing in the AFRINIC region.

Important Dates

  • Nomination Phase: 15 September – 1st December 2021
  • Comment Phase: 30 December 2021 – 30 March 2022
  • Interview Phase: 29 January – 30 March 2022
  • ICANN Due Diligence starts for final slate of nominated candidates
  • Selection Phase (deliberation): 1st – 16 April 2022
  • Selection Phase (voting): 19 – 25 April 2022
  • Announcement of selected candidate: after 5 May 2022


The following candidates were nominated:

  1. Rafael ‘Lito’ Ibarra
  2. Christian Kaufmann

Interview Phase

After a first round of written interviews, the ASO AC held videoconference interviews with the candidates on 4-5 March 2022.

Comment Phase

The comment phase began on 30 December 2021 and ended at 23.59 UTC on 30 March 2022. As per section 9.4.5 of the ASO AC Operating Procedures, all comments were moderated by the ASO Secretariat prior to being published on the ASO website.

Selection Phase and Announcement

After the conclusion of the selection phase (1 – 16 April 2022), Christian Kaufmann was elected by the ASO AC members to Seat 10 of the ICANN Board.

Mr. Christian Kaufmann’s term on the ICANN Board will begin at the conclusion of the ICANN Annual General Meeting  to be held in September 2022 and will run through the conclusion of the ICANN Annual General Meeting in October 2025.

Conclusion of the due diligence review was confirmed on 30 March 2022. The candidates were informed of the results and the ASO AC Chair notified the ICANN Empowered Community Representatives on 26 April 2022.

Announcement Archive

If you have any questions about the elections or the election process, please contact secretariat [at] nro [dot] net.

Last modified on 11/05/2022