



#### Report from the ASO AC

https://aso.icann.org/





## The ICANN ASO AC (Address Council)

Address Supporting Organization

Who is it?	The NRO Number Council	
What is it?	Number Resource Policy Advisory Body	
How is it Organized?	<ul> <li>15 Members [3 From Each Region]         <ul> <li>2 Elected at Large</li> <li>1 Appointed by RIR Board</li> </ul> </li> <li>RIR &amp; ICANN Observers</li> </ul>	
Term of Office?	Different for every RIR	
What Does it Do?	<ul> <li>Advise ICANN Board on Internet Numbers matters</li> <li>Global Policy Development Process Review</li> <li>Select ICANN Board Members (2, Seat 9 and 10)</li> <li>Select representatives to ICANN Bodies (i.e NomCom)</li> </ul>	
When Does It Meet?	• Telephonic – Monthly • F2F - Annually	



#### 2020 Address Council Members

Address Supporting Organization

REGION	Member	Term
AFRINC The internet Numbers Registry for Africa	Wafa Dahmani Zaafouri* Mike Silber Mukhangu Noah Maina	Jan 2020 – Dec 2020 Jan 2020 – Dec 2022 Jan 2018 – Dec 2020
(::) APNIC	Aftab Siddiqui [Chair] Brajesh Jain Simon Sohel Baroi*	Jan 2020 – Dec 2021 Jan 2019 – Dec 2020 Jan 2020 – Dec 2020
Arsarican Registry for Internet Numbers	Martin Hannigan Kevin Blumberg* [Vice Chair] Louis Lee	Jan 2020 – Dec 2022 Jan 2018 – Dec 2020 Jan 2019 – Dec 2021
lacnic	Jorge Villa [Vice Chair] Ricardo Patara Esteban Lescano*	Jan 2018 – Dec 2020 Jan 2019 – Dec 2021 Dec 2018 –Mar 2020
RIPE NCC RIPE NETWORK COORDINATION CENTRE	Nurani Nimpuno Filiz Yilmaz Hervé Clément*	Jan 2019 – Dec 2021 Jan 2020 – Dec 2022 Jan 2018 – Dec 2020

#### Last appointments

Esteban Lescano \* (LACNIC)

April 2020 - March 2021

Jorge Villa (LACNIC)

Jan 2021 - Dec 2023

Saul Stein (AfriNIC)

Jan 2021 - Dec 2023

Nicole Chan \* (APNIC)

Jan 2021 - Dec 2021

Shubham Saran (APNIC)

Jan 2021 - Dec 2022



<sup>\*</sup> Appointed by RIR Board

#### ICANN | ASO

### 2020 ASO AC Participation Record

Address	Supporting	Organization	

REGION	Member	Attendance (out of 10)
AFRINC The Internet Numbers Registry for Africa	Wafa Dahmani Zaafouri* Mike Silber Mukhangu Noah Maina	5 7 9
(::) APNIC	Aftab Siddiqui [Chair] Brajesh Jain Simon Sohel Baroi*	9 10 10
ARIN American Registry for Internet Numbers	Martin Hannigan Kevin Blumberg* [Vice Chair] Louis Lee	7 9 9
lacnic	Jorge Villa [Vice Chair] Ricardo Patara Esteban Lescano*	10 10 10
RIPE NCC RIPE NETWORK COORDINATION CENTRE	Nurani Nimpuno Filiz Yilmaz Hervé Clément*	10 10 10



#### ASO AC Appointments



#### **ASO AC Current Appointments**

- Maemura Akinori
  - Seat 10 ICANN Board, 2019 2022 (from APNIC Region)
- Ron da Silva
  - Seat 9 ICANN Board, 2018 2021 (from ARIN Region)
- Pankaj Chaturvedi
  - ASO Representative in the ICANN NomCom 2020 term

#### **ASO AC 2020 Appointments**

- Seat 9 ICANN Board Start of selection process
  - Term 2021 2024 (APNIC region not eligible)
- ASO Representative to ICANN NomCom
  - 2021 Term Pankaj Chaturvedi was re-appointed last July



#### I C A N N | A S O

### **ICANN** Board Seat 9 Appointment

- Address Supporting Organization
- Nomination Phase: 15 September 2020 15 November 2020
- Comment Phase: 21 December 2020 17 January 2021
- ICANN Due Diligence for nominated candidates
- Interview Phase: 25 January 2021 30 March 2021
- Selection Phase (deliberation): 1 − 16 April 2021
- Selection Phase (voting): 19 25 April 2021

Hervé Clément, 30th October 2020

Announcement of selected candidate: ~ 30 April 2021

https://aso.icann.org/icann-board/icann-board-elections/2021-icann-board-of-directors-seat-9-elections/

# Questions?

